Program for Exceptional Children



Welcome to the Douglas County School System
Program for Exceptional Children

Executive Director - 
Cheryl Handley

Phone: 770-651-2135
Fax:  770.651.2328

MISSION STATEMENT

The Mission for the Douglas County School System Program for Exceptional Children is to empower students with disabilities to reach their individual potential by:   

  • collaborating with all stakeholders to design and implement an individualized educational plan based upon continuous data analysis 

  •  establishing high standards/expectations for student learning and achievement

  • delivering quality specialized instruction and supports to the whole child based on academic, social/emotional, communication and physical needs 

  • providing a safe, respectful learning environment      


CONTACT INFORMATION

Area of Responsibility

Name

Phone / Email

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

School Alignments
Brighten Academy, Youth Villages, DC Student Success Academy, Flex Academy

Cheryl Handley

770.651.2132
cheryl.handley@dcssga.org

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR

High School Alignments 
Alexander HS, Chapel Hill HS, New Manchester HS

Middle School Alignments 
Chapel Hill MS, Factory Shoals MS, Fairplay MS, Yeager MS

Elementary School Alignments
Bill Arp ES, Chapel Hill ES, Dorsett Shoals ES, Factory Shoals ES, Holly Springs ES, Mt. Carmel ES, New Manchester ES, South Douglas ES, Sweetwater ES

Monica Henderson

770.651.2144
monica.henderson@dcssga.org

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR

High School Alignments
CCI, 
Douglas County HS, Lithia Springs HS

Middle School Alignments 
Chestnut Log MS, Mason MS, Stewart MS, Turner MS

Elementary School Alignments
Arbor Station ES, Annette Winn ES, Beulah ES, Bright Star ES, Burnette ES, Eastside ES, Lithia Springs ES, Mason Creek ES, Mirror Lake ES, North Douglas ES, Winston ES

Michelle Lowe

770.651.2148
michelle.lowe@dcssga.org

COORDINATOR OF GNETS (H.A.V.E.N.)
Campus Locations - Mason Creek ES, Mason Creek MS, Alexander HS


Dr. Alisa Long

Office Manager
Randa Hutchins


770.651.2551
alisa.long@dcssga.org

770.651.2551
randa.hutchins@dcssga.org

CLERICAL STAFF

Administrative Specialist for Executive Director

Theresa Bone

770.651.2132
theresa.bone@dcssga.org

Administrative Assistant for Assistant Directors (Medicaid)

Nikki Krow

770.651.2134
Fax:  770.920.4111
nikki.krow@dcssga.org

Administrative Assistant for Special Education Records

Karen Ellis

Main: 770.651.2316
Fax:  770.651.2328
spedrecords@dcssga.org

Administrative Assistant for LEAP

Lesley Thompson

770.651.2116
lesley.thompson@dcssga.org

SUPERVISORS

Supervisor Special Needs Preschool

Amanda Shuemake

770.651.2113
amanda.shuemake@dcssga.org

Supervisor for Elementary Schools

Angela Haynes

770.651.2532
angela.haynes@dcssga.org

Supervisor for Middle Schools

Alisa Haynes

770.651.2594
alisa.haynes@dcssga.org

Supervisor for High Schools


Kimberly Brown

770.651.3120
kimberly.brown@dcssga.org

Speech Language Pathology Supervisor (Elementary)

Susie Hovis

770.651.4542
susie.hovis@dcssga.org

Speech Language Pathology Supervisor (Middle/High)

Melissa Mitcham

770.651.2595
melissa.mitcham@dcssga.org

Supervisor of Behavioral Services

Vicki Garner

770.651.2072
vicki.garner@dcssga.org

Supervisor of ID Programs/CBI

Leanne Lowen

770.651.2077
leanne.lowen@dcssga.org

School Psychological Services

Shane Avery

770.651.5623
shane.avery@dcssga.org

OTHER SERVICES

Audiology Services (Hearing Test)

Dr. Nichelle Wilson

770.651.2145
nichelle.wilson@dcssga.org

Special Education Assistive Technology

Melissa Mitcham

770.651.2595
melissa.mitcham@dcssga.org

 

                                                                                                        

                               


 

 

 

 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.